Magnetic Pickup

dputtock

First let me say that I am new to UE9 so please make answers simple (not like Users Guide which is way over my head)

I'm using DaqFactory and all I want to do is read the frequency from the magnetic pickup on my turbine flowmeter. The frequency will vary between 100Hz and 1500Hz and the voltage is about 20-60 mV.

I connect to the UE9 by ethernet and can read analogue input OK.

I have configured the Labjack as Device #2 as I have other devices as 0 and 1

I have connected my pickup to FIO2 and used quick device configuration to set up 1 timer and 1 counter

which I assume will occupy FIO0 and FIO1 respectively. Although I have no idea what I'm going to do with these.

The timer clockconfig is 750khz, but I don't know what the divisor is for so have not set it.

Mode ? - I have no idea what PWM or quadrature are so I chose falling edge input

Value ? -

Where do I go from here - it seems very complicated

I looked at the UE9-CounterModes_Simple example but there seems to be a lot of script, is this just doing the same as QuickConfiguration. I really dont understand the logical process and which bits i need.

Help gratefully recieved

Two things to get started, before we get into DAQFactory stuff:

1) Decide if you want to use a Counter or Timer (or both), and let us know. Check out the following topic:

http://www.labjack.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=1105

2) So you get a square wave from your sensor, where the low state is about 20 mV and the high state is about 60 mV? That will not work with the digital (counter/timer) inputs. Looking at the digital logic levels specified in Appendix A of the UE9 User's Guide, you want a low of -0.3 to 1.0 volts, and a high of 2.3 to 5.3 volts.

One option would be to use some sort of hardware to condition your signal to the proper levels. Perhaps the sensor manufacturer has suggestions for interfacing to standard digital logic?