Newbie sequence question

middlehill

Hi,

I'm a total beginner beginner with Labjack and Daqfactory, I was hoping someone you could point me in the right direction with a solution I'm trying to put together.

I've been playing around with the basic functions and features, and I think I have some basic understanding how to set up channels and how to convert sensor data into correct units. The stumbling block for me is the construction of a sequence for logging and showing data, my attempts based on various examples just don't seem to work...

The application is a mobile laptop/Labjack measuring unit attached to a motorcycle. The objective is to measure the deceleration rate and braking power during one braking event.

So far I have set up three channels:

- WheelSpeed (a counter channel receiving pulses from the opto hook sensor, attached to an additional measuring wheel)

- BrakePower (an analog input channel, attached to a power sensor in the brake handle)

- StartSwitch (digital input channel, used as a start switch)

The test procedure would be something like this:

1. driving the bike 100-150 km/h

2. press the Start switch (I guess this could also be triggered by the brake handle power sensor?)

3. Start braking

4. Log the deceleration and brake handle force during the braking until halt.

The results should be viewable as a table and a graph, showing deceleration rate and brake handle force as a function of time. Total braking time would also be useful.

I'd be really grateful, I someone could give me pointers regarding the basic structure of a sequence that would accomplish this. (Setting up the channels at least seems to be the easy part, but the sequences are not so easy to grasp for a beginner...)

Jari V

Why do you need a sequence at all? Would it be a problem to just read and graph your three inputs continuously? Create a graph object with 3 separate traces - one for each input. then you can select any data that you want to save.