Velocity Question

I am a Mechanical Engineering student and we are working on a project to dynamically measure velocity of Human Powered Vehicle. We are using a LabJack U3 LV DAQ system. I have hooked it up and I used the sample counter provided with DAQFactory. We have just a simple magnet-sensor set up on the wheel and it is counting just fine.

In order to get velocity you multiply your number of turns times pi and diameter and divide all of that by your time interval. I need to figure out a couple of things in order to do this...

1. The counter I worked with just keeps going as long as its open. I think I'll need to get one to reset after a few seconds and start over in order to properly calculate velocity. It needs to be taken as a derivative of time and I think that would be the best way to do it.

2. I would also like to graph this data of velocity versus time. I know that it automatically graphs the counter vs. time. I just don't know how to set it up to show a graph of velocity vs. time whenever I figure out to how to calculate velocity.

3. I would like to store the data once I start getting the numbers in for calculations.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

The DAQFactory / LabJack application guide and other posts I believe talk a little about this: in general you do not want to reset the counters. Instead you should let them free run and use the channel event to calc the velocity based on a difference between two consecutive counts. To do this:

1) Create a new channel, Device Type Test, I/O Type D to A, Channel #0. Call it velocity.

2) In your rawcounts channel's event (click on the channel name in the workspace and then the event tab) put:

private dc = rawcounts[1] - rawcounts[0]
private dt = rawcounts.time[1] - rawcounts.time[0]
private vel = dc * pi() * diameter / dt
vel.time = systime()
velocity.addvalue(vel)