Modbus and Meters

kshitiz

Hi,

I am a computer engineer and I have been assigned a task to read data from every type of meter like water, gas, electricity meter and store it in a database using java.

Now, I just want to know that whether modbus protocol used by all water meters or electricity meters is same or not? Or different water meters would be using different modbus protocol.

Similarly, modbus protocol used by water and any other meters like gas meters would be same or not ?

Please help me to give me a direction.

Thank you

Different devices use different forms of Modbus (RTU/TCP/ASCII), though typically serial based devices use RTU and Ethernet based devices use TCP. That said, two different devices using the same version (say RTU), will almost certainly have completely different register mapping, and as such you can't write a universal driver.

You can kind of think of it like telephone extensions. The Modbus ID will get you to the building, but if you want to reach accounting, it might be at extension 241 for Microsoft and 3829 for Dell, etc. Each device manufacturer will use different extensions to read their values. In addition to the register addresses (which correspond to the extensions) you have to know how they formatted their data, what data type. Modbus is pretty simple and pretty universal, but its not plug and play. In general you MUST have documentation for the device to get anywhere, and as far as I know, there is no standard for any particular sensor type, unless from a single manufacturer.

• 4 months later...
  • 3 months later...