Assigning a component to a variable

ariesgo

Hi. I'm a newbie here and I'm still not too familiar with the forums so I apologise in advance if this has been asked before. Basically, I've been trying to pass a reference to a GUI component to a function, but I've been unable to find a way of doing this. What I'd like to do is something like the following:

function MySequence()
  //(...)

private oButton = Component.MyButton

private oButtonHighlighter = new(ButtonHighlighter)
  oButtonHighlighter.Initialise(oButton)

// (...) 
endfunction

class ButtonHighlighter

local moButton = NULL
  local miOriginalBackgroundColour = RGB(0, 0, 0)

function Initialise(oButton)
	if(!IsEmpty(oButton))
	  moButton = oButton
	  miOriginalBackgroundColour = moButton.BackColor
	  moButton.BackColor = RGB(255, 0, 0)
	endif
  endfunction

// (...)
endclass

In the above code, "IsEmpty(oButton)" evaluates to false and the code in the if block in the Initialise method doesn't get executed. The problem seems to be that Component.MyButton can't be treated like an object that can be freely assigned to variables or passed as a parameter to functions. In fact, I've found that, surprisingly, "IsEmpty(Component.MyButton)" evaluates to true whereas "IsEmpty(Component.MyButton.BackColor)" evaluates to false.

Is there any way I can do this sort of thing? The obvious workaround consists in hard-coding button references like "Component.MyButton" within the code of classes like the ButtonHighlighter example, but I'd rather be able to keep it more generic.

The answer is no and yes. No, DAQFactory doesn't have pointers / references for most internal objects, so they can't be assigned to variables, or at least if you do, you just get NULL. User objects, of course, are passed around by reference, so can be assigned to variables. A few internal objects can be instantiated dynamically as referencable objects (namely comm related stuff).