Logging Data to an array for later analysis

Chrisn

Hey, newbie here.

I would like to log data from a channel directly to an array for later analysis in another sequence.

The logging must begin at an event, at a rate of about 50hz (1 datapoint every 20 ms), and then stop after about 20 seconds. Which is the best way to do this? I know I can just create a logging channel, but I'd like to avoid writing the raw curve on my C: drive if I can.

Easiest way is to create a second channel. Device type Test, I/O type A to D, Timing = 0. Let's call it myArray for this example. Then you'll need a global variable to mark the time of start of the event. Call it, say, eventStartTime. Then, in a button, say, to start the event, use a Quick Sequence action and put:

global eventStartTime = systime()

Then, in the Event for your input channel (I'll assume its called "inputChannel"), put:

if (systime() - eventStartTime < 20)
myArray.addValue(inputChannel[0])
endif

[/CODE]

That is one way. You could also simply record the eventStartTime, then subset your input channel:

inputChannel[eventStartTime, eventStartTime + 20]

which will return an array of all the data points in "inputChannel" between the event start time and 20 seconds later.

In your former example, if I wanted to trigger it from a sequence rather than a button, would I be able to trigger it as a Quick Sequence?

In your latter example, I would assume that the array size returned would depend only on the timing and the sample rate. So the returned array should have a size of 400 every time. Could I just set another array that has 400 elements in it, say arrayCapture, equal to it? e.g:

arrayCapture = inputChannel[eventStartTime, eventStartTime + 20]

would that work?

In the former example: you can put the script wherever you want, either a Quick Sequence in a button, or in a regular sequence. It doesn't matter.