Get Serial / RS232 Data

dh53

Hello,

Complete newbie here.  I have been using DaqFactory to acquire, view, and log analog data but now want to log data from a weighing scale with an RS-232 interface.  I am able to add the new serial device using Quick->Device Configuration->New Serial(RS232...  After some messing with the settings I am able to communicate in DaqFactory so that  I can send the command in Comm Monitor "N\013\010"  which this particular scale interprets as "send net weight- carriage return".  I get an ascii response with the correct weight in Comm Monitor.  Also I can set the weighing scale to output data continuously and when I look at Comm Monitor it is showing me the correct weight and time stamp every second or so, so I know DaqFactory can read the RS232 data out of the scale.

The output from the scale is a string of " + x.xx lbs\013\010".  I am obviously most interested in the "x.xx" as numerical data, but can postprocess that later if I can capture the string.

My question is how do I get that RS232 serial data into a variable/ data point I can look at in a graph or output to a data file?  Does this require programming / sequences?  I have so far had great success with DaqFactory, but have not been able to make the leap between the windows based drop down options and programing sequences.  If I want to either:

1) set the scale to only output when prompted, then using DaqFactory ask the scale every 30 seconds for the current weight and display it in DaqFactory and save it to a file

or

2) set the scale to output data continuously but wait 30 seconds for DaqFactory to display and record the data point