Reading and logging single datapoints

Dobbeljoe

I get data in on an analogue channel. I would like to have a knob that sets the data to zero (i.e. remove offset) as long as the knob is active.

Then I would need (say 10) single datapoints that are collected (and logged/stored/exported)  whenever I push another knob. The datapoints should be shown in a table and finally the mean value of the collected datapoints should be shown.

Has anyone some tips and hints on how to achieve this? I am completely new to DAQFactory (I did read the manual several times but not too successful until now)

By knob I am assuming you actually mean a button, and that the first button just gives you a zero point, which is used for the following 10 readings.  To do this, you need first to create a sequence marked Auto-Start with a little script to initialize a couple variables:

global zeroPoint = 0
global takeData = 0

After you create this sequence, run it to create these variables.  Since you marked it auto-start, it will run when you load your document.

Next, create a channel to hold this captured data.  I'll call it, say "capData".  You can call it what you want.  Device type "Test", "D to A".

Next, create a button for the zero.  I'm going to assume the analog channel is just called "Input".  For the button, go to the Action tab and select Quick Sequence.  The script is simply:

zeroPoint = input[0]

Next, create another button for the test start.  Again, create a quick sequence.  In this case, assuming you want 10 data points you'd do:

capData.clearHistory() 
takeData = 10

The first line clears out your last run.  The second tells us we want to capture 10 data points.

Finally, go to the Event tab of the Input channel by clicking on the channel name in the workspace.  Put in script like this:

if (takeData > 0)
   capData.addValue(input[0] - zeroPoint)
   takeData--
endif