HOA Switch

I have an existing Channel Event controlling a DO to toggle a valve based on an analog tank level signal. I want to add an HOA switch to open or close the valve at will or allow the Event to do its thing. I have very little coding experience.

Thanks,

Terry

You'd have to use a variable or a Test D/A channel to hold the HOA state.  Let's say you did a variable.  Initialize it in a sequence marked Auto-Start:

global HOA = 2   // 0 = off, 1 = on, 2 = auto.  Default is auto

Then in your Channel Event, let's say you had:

if (tankLevel[0] > 10)
   DO = 1
endif
if (tanklevel[0] < 9)
   DO = 0
endif

Replace that with:

if (hoa == 2)
   if (tankLevel[0] > 10)
      DO = 1
   endif
   if (tanklevel[0] < 9)
      DO = 0
   endif
else
   DO = HOA
endif

That is really up to you.  If you have Pro you there is a 3 position switch in the symbol library, or I should say, three different images you can use to create a three position switch.  But you can do it with your own images, or just use 3 buttons.  It just depends on what you want it to look like.

• 4 weeks later...

Use a single Symbol component and add the three images, giving each image a different threshold depending on your coding.  I recommend 0 for off, 1 for hand and 2 for auto.  Then in the action, if you just want to step through the states put script like this (assuming "hoa" is the variable/channel with the hoa status):

private temp = hoa+1
if (temp > 2)
   temp = 0
endif
hoa = temp

Thanks for your help. So if I understand correctly, there is no animated symbol that rotates between left, up, and right like a real HOA switch, and I have to, for example, place three separate symbols on the screen showing the L, U, and R positions configured to produce the H, O, and A actions when each is pressed?