0 - 5Volt Fader

this time i have to make a program which can go from a certain setpoint to 5Volts automaticly

here the deal

i have 5v power supply

with a potentiometer i can alter the current from 0-5volt ( my setpoint )

when i flip a switch the setpoint has to move to 5V regardles of were it is at the moment.

if you guys don't get my drift. here a site with an electronic device. i have to use the same concept. exept i have to make it with Daqfactory

http://www.voti.nl/fader/index_1.html

it's supposed to be a fader from 0-5 volt

btw i tried to use the while loop to read the input value. and according to that adjust the output. but some how i couldn't get it tot work.

while(1)                          
   read(inputValue)             
      if (inputvalue <=5)     
      then(Digout +1)
      endif                     
   wait(1)                      
endwhile

remember i'm still a noob so i'm not good at this

I'm not really sure exactly what you are trying to do. But first, and I only mention it because if I don't say it, you may never know, but 0-5volt is voltage not current. Current is typical in units of Amps and a power supply that allows you to vary the current is a completely different beast.

OK, that said, you have just a regular variable power supply with a pot to adjust the voltage on the PS. You want to be able to set the power supply to 5 volts from within DAQFactory no matter what the pot says?

If so, this is actually a bit trickier then you'd think. You have to look at the Pot and see what it is doing. If its just a simple voltage divider on the output, then you could use a relay to bypass it. If its controlling some internal circuitry, you have to figure out how it works. It could be grounding the circuitry to set it to 5V or doing the opposite. That's why its tricky, and if done wrong you could blow the power supply.