Long logging time in Excel

Ronny

Hello,

This is my first post, so i am a newbie.

I have to make a datalogsystem with Labjack 12 and DAQ Factory software. The data that I collected is displayed in Excel 2000. I have to make a datalog of every second and during 24 H.

So I need to have 86400 (1*60*60*24) lines in Excel, but Excel seems not to go this far (max. 65536).

I was thinking of creating at least 2 files for the data, but how can i dom this. For example I want to use the first file at 00.00 H until 12.00 H and then the second file from 12.00 H until 00.00 H. If its possible that I can define the date in it that would be great.

Kind regards

First, might I recommend using a better analysis tool? My personal favorite is Igor, but its quite expensive. There are lots of others that are quite inexpensive and much better at analysis than Excel.

That said, yes, this is quite easy. Lets assume you have an input channel called MyInput, and a logging set called MyLog.

1) Click on "MyInput" in the workspace under CHANNELS to display the channel view, then click on the event tab.

2) In the event tab put:

logging.mylog.strFileName = "c:\data\mydatafile_" + formatdatetime("%p",systime()) + ".csv"

3) Click apply.

What this will do is set the file name of your logging set every time a new data point comes in. 99% of the time, it won't change it at all, but when noon and midnight roll around, it will change the file name. The formatdatetime() function with %p simply generates AM or PM, which is tacked to your file name.

The problem with this is if you don't start the experiment at exactly midnight. For this reason you might want to instead put:

logging.mylog.strFileName = "c:\data\mydatafile_" + formatdatetime("%y%m%d%p",systime()) + ".csv"