Routing my value to an analog output...

Hello,

I am very new to using DAQFactory and LabJack. I have read the manual but somehow I am still missing something...

I am trying to update my 0-5VDC analog output on the LabJack (i.e.: DAC0) with data stored on the computer. How do I automatically route the data from my CSV file to the output of DAC0. My CSV file is automatically updated every 5 minutes with new data.

From reading the manual, it seem to me that the only way to set the DAC outputs is to manually enter these numbers (page 29-30 in the DAQFatory LabJack manual)...

Any help and suggestions will be much appreciated.

Thanks!

You can output channels from script simply by assigning a value to them:

myoutchannel = 5

See 6.2.1 in the DAQFactory - LabJack Application Guide

The (only slightly) trickier part for you is actually reading the file. Its not hard, but requires several lines of code. What that code is depends a little on the file and which value you want. Perhaps you can post a sample file and exactly which value you want to pull from it and I can tell you exactly what script you need.

Hello,

Thanks for the prompt reply. Section 6 is very informative. I guess I should have kept reading :) .

My CSV file will only contain 2 columns: Date and Concentration.

I am only concerned with outputting the concentration value which will vary from 0 to 21 as a voltage. My file name is result.csv in the C:/ Drive

Date, Concentration
5/13/2008 6:25, 3
5/13/2008 6:30, 13
5/13/2008 6:35, 4
5/13/2008 6:40, 0
5/13/2008 6:45, 21

Thanks for all your help!

ok, but that file has lots of concentration values. Are you going to read a line, set the output, delay, then read another line and repeat? It kind of comes down to this:

private handle = file.open("C:\result.csv",1,0,0,1)
try
   private string linein = file.read(handle) // read the title line and ignore
   while(1)
	  linein = file.read(handle)
	  if (linein == "") // done!
		 break
	  endif