Switch, Case statements

Hi,

I am a beginner in any kind of scripting. I am trying to write a sequence to control the temperature of a reactor. I wish to heat until 105 C and then turn off the heat and then get down to my setpoint of 80 C by heating when temp is below 78 and stopping heat when temp is above 82. These parameters can be changed if this is not the most efficient way to do this.

Here is a copy of my code so far...I can turn off the heat after 105 C but daqfactory gets hung up when i reach my switch, case statements:

output = 1
private n = 0
while(1) <----Why do you have to put a 1?
	   read(internal)
	   waitfor(internal[0]>105,5)
	   while(n<4)
			 read(internal)
			 if(internal[0]>105)
					  n=n+1
			 endif
			 delay(10)
	   endwhile
output=0
delay(10)
endwhile

read internal
waitfor(internal[0]<79,5)
while(n<4)
	   read(internal) <-----I think im being redundant here
	   if(internal[0]<79
			   n=n+1
	   endif
	   delay(10)
endwhile
output=1

switch
case(internal[0]>82)
	output=0
case(internal[0]<78)
	output=1

waituntil(24hrs)<------basically I want my temp at 80C for 24 hours once this temp is reached
output = 0

If anyone can give me any suggestions as to what is holding up my code it would be greatly appreciated.

So you want to heat to 105 (and get 5 measurements there), then cool to 80 and control at 80 (with 2 degrees of hystersis) for 24 hours, yes? First, I'd have the internal channel simply read itself by setting the Timing to something like 1. Then it becomes:

output = 1
while (min(internal[0,4]) < 105)
   delay(5)
endwhile
// now cool
waitfor(max(internal[0,4]) < 79)
// now control:
private starttime = systime()
// control for one day:
while (systime() < starttime + 86400)
   if (internal[0] < 78)
	  output = 1
   endif
   if (internal[0] > 82)
	  output = 0
   endif
   delay(5)
endwhile

That is about it. The details: