Production Shift/Run Time/Down Time Logging

Hi

I'm rather new to all this and I have downloaded the trial version of DAQFactory and purchased a EDAM 9050 DAQ Unit from a local supplier. (http://www.audon.co.uk/edam9000_manual.pdf)

I have configured the unit and can set an output and read the inputs etc.

I have three questions, which are as follows:

On the EDAM 9050 I have set a counter, which requires two items which I seem to have to set in the hardware config tool supplied with the unit, these are:

Start the counter and reset the counter

My question is two-fold, how do I do this through DAQFactory

Or is there a smart way to do this within DAQ Factory?

I have spent some time reading through the various threads on this forum and also have a question regarding time which is:

My factory operates the following shifts:

06:00 - 14:00

14:00 - 22:00

22:00 - 06:00

So at the end of each shift I would like to reset counts etc, change my logging to a new file etc.

Would I need to do a sequence for each time or is there a clever way of doing this all in one sequence.

The third question relates to Running Time/Downtime logging:

I would like to log time cumulatively when the machine is running and the switch to another timer when say a breakdown or a changeover or a material shortage appears

Any help and examples etc you could let me know would be gratefully received.

Regards

Martin

1st question: depends on the device. I'm assuming that's a Modbus device. You'll need to check their manual to see if they have a modbus register or coil that when set resets the counter.

2nd question: assuming you figured out the first one and create a channel to reset the counter: You just need one sequence:

private lasttime = formatdatetime("%H",systime())
while(1)
   if (formatdatetime("%H",systime()) != lasttime)
	  lasttime = formatdatetime("%H",systime())
	  if ((lasttime == "6") || (lasttime == "14") || (lasttime == "22"))
		 resetcounter = 1
	  endif
   endif