Basic Channel Function

Hi, I'm completely new to DF and have been assigned with the task of developing a control system for a wet chemical scrubbing system. I am having difficulty creating a value to use as a setpoint to compare real I/O data to; in order to trigger other functions.

I have been told V channels are not the way forward so I have set up a new channel named in this case Recirc_pH_SP. As I want to set the channel with an initial value I have been told to use the addvalue() function , but so far have only managed the following. "Recirc_pH_SP.addvalue(5)" This does set the channel to 5 as I require, but does not display the value in the variable value field. Presumably as i require "[0]" somewhere in my expression. I also need the user to be able to modify this value during runtime as they see fit.

Any help much appreciated!

Mark

If you just need to store a set point and don't need any history on it, just use a variable. In your startup sequence, just put:

global recirc_ph_SP = 5

(assuming you want to init it to 5). Then in the variable value control you can just put:

recirc_ph_SP

You can change the value as well.

The easiest way is to use a channel. A regular channel. Not a V channel. Make it Device Type "Test", I/O type "D to A" and make sure if you use multiple ones, you give them unique channel numbers. Then, you can set the value:

recirc_ph_SP = 5

and retrieve the value:

recirc_ph_SP

Don't do "global" because that will create a variable with the same name.

Note that it is slightly slower to use a test D/A channel and = than it is to use a test A/D channel (with timing = 0) and addvalue(). But unless you are going to change this value quickly (say > 20 times a second), I don't think its really going to be an issue.

• 3 years later...

Morning,