Quadrature Encoder to calculate Angular Velocity

sce6th

Dear All,

I am using a quadrature encoder and a labjack u6 and my aim is to be able to calculate the angular velocity of the shaft the encoder will be attached to in real time. I am a beginner with regards to using this hardware and I am not particularly advance with the scripting side of things.

To date I have managed to successfully connect the encoder to the labjack and using dagFactorry i have managed to output pulses, and therefore number of revolutions against time (since for this particular encoder there are 4000 pulses per rev) on a graph. However the number of revolutions continually increases and I have no means to reset the value as well as calculating the rpm.

I have tried to scan some of the literature but I cannot seem to find much with regards to this problem

Any comments, help or a point in the right direction would be much appreciated

Tom

The encoder is going to give you an absolute value for position. That's why you get an ever increasing graph, you are moving in one direction. To calculate the # of pulses per second, simply do a dx/dt calculation between successive reads. For example, assuming your channel is called "count":

(count[0] - count[1])/(count.time[0] - count.time[1])

You can smooth the signal a bit by spreading the delta over several reads:

(count[0] - count[4])/(count.time[0] - count.time[4])

These just generate a scalar. If you want to graph it, you'll need an array, so just add ,99999 after the numbers:

(count[0,99999] - count[1,99999])/(count.time[0,99999] - count.time[1,99999])

The units of all these are counts/second because time is in seconds. To convert to rpm, just divide by 4000 counts/rpm and multiply by 60 seconds/minute.