Flow Meter Pulse Counting

mcowle

Hi,

I am a beginner with labjack and DaqFactory express.

I have a flow meter which produces a pulse output, which can be related to the total flow volume by a constant. I would like to use DaqFactory express with a U6 labjack to count and record the number of pulse over a set time period in order to determine the flow rate, although I haven't a clue where to begin

You input would be greatly welcome

Kind Regards

First decide if you are going to count or time, as the U6 can do either:

http://forums.labjack.com/index.php?showtopic=1105

You described counting. Start by using the test panel in LJControlPanel to see if you can get the counter working there:

http://labjack.com/support/u6/users-guide/2.9

After you have it working in the test panel, then move on to DAQFactory:

http://labjack.com/support/ud/df-lj-app-guide/10

What sort of frequency are you operating with? IE how often is you gas meter counting

For me I don't see counts very much, though I can get as high as 1 count per minute.

To avoid using a timer/counter channel I just connected my gas meter into an AIO port. My pulse is actually a switch that closes on the count. I have it set to increment when it sees the falling edge.

my code is really basic, enhanced by the help here:

if (DGM[1] - DGM[0] > 1 && DGM[1] > 4 
    DGM_Count++
endif

Normally my DGM voltage reading is -2.4 (labjack default). When the switch is closed it connects the AIO to the Vs source so I read ~5v. Once this drops off it returns to -2.4, though sometimes the reading catches it funny and will read like 2-3v before going back to steady state. This is why I just have the change in voltage to be 1v instead of something like 5.