Boxcar Averaging

I have received the following request from the departmental statistician of the faculty where I am doing my PhD and would hope that you could provide me the information he has requested.

The data I'm collecting is sampled at i minute intervals, and average is checked for 900 samples (15 minutes).

My colleague asked:

Thanks for the info re: averaging via a boxcar function. This option is better than the usual running average but there still is a possible catch when dealing with auto-correlated observations.

As per attached figure below, there is a sequence of observations (one per time step), the blue rectangle represents the `support' of the box car function for the first 15 minute window. All observations within this window from the 1st averaged data point. Those observations within the support of the second box car function (red rectangle) form the 2nd averaged data point.

Now assume a lag 1 autocorrelation (for the sake of example) so that we can expect the previous observation to provide information on the value of the current observation. Observe in the figure at the observation at the end of the 1st boxcar and the first observation of the 2nd boxcar are coloured green. This is to indicate that they share significant information in common yet they are used in different boxcar functions to produce averaged data values.

In this case there is still `information leakage'.