Tachometer Using Open Collector Square Wave

Morning,

Apologies if cross posting or missed something obvious but very new labjack and DAQFactory.  Any pointers to existing files, posts, and comments warmly received

I have just picked a half completed test rig that I have been asked to finish within the next 48hrs so as to allow some testing that will affect the use of some equipment on a big sporting event.

Are there any examples of a tachometer using open collector square wave?

I need to get the RPM of a shaft, the problem is that the hardware gives 360 counts per rev, believe it’s really meant for angle measurement not tacho.  With a shaft of up to 125 rpm that’s 750 pulses per second.  An update of the rpm once a second would be fine, but don’t know if I can count fast enough.  I’m very very new to labjack and when I did something similar before it was with NI kit and think did it in hardware.    Maybe I’m over simplifying it but count how many pulses in a second, do the math then send results to DAQFactory.

Apologies if cross posted but desperate to get this working or at least find out if possible and work out a plan B

Kind regards

Martin 

Many thanks for help.

I tried the basic counter example last night and hope it is as simple as that but so far been unable to get it to work.  It show channelss: raw data as Labjack,  With hertz and counts set as test, is this correct.

Will this work ok with digital in and open collector signal.

Using U6-pro and basiccounter shows no 'red crosses'

Hope it is easy as getting this to work, any further tips will be great help

kind regards

Martin

See the following about collecting open-collector signals to a digital input:

http://labjack.com/support/u6/users-guide/2.8.1.2

Most likely you can simply connect your signal to FIO0 and your common/ground to GND.

Start with this topic from the LabJack forum about frequency measurement:

http://forums.labjack.com/index.php?showtopic=1105