2 Analog Temp Inputs, Digital Input And Trending

rdtech

I have a project where I am using 2 thermometers, one for ambient (TMP35) 10mv/degree C and a Non-Contact IT thermometer for target temp with a 0-5V structure. I do not think Ill have much trouble scaling the IR therm 0-5.  I need to continually show the ambient temp, and once button is pressed, activate a digital output and start recording the non contact thermometer.

We need to show the temperature and how long it takes for the target, monitored by the IR thermometer to return to ambient (or close) and stabilize.

Is there an existing script? I have begun with decribing 2 AN inputs 0 & 1 and 1 digital out for start and trugger of external event (classified)

I believe I need to start a timer and monitor the IR therm and record until it stabilizes(ambient)

I do need to be able to save this data.

I am new to DAQ Factory, but some experience with U3 LAbjack.

ANy help will be appreciated.

This is pretty simple.  First, create your channels and make sure you are getting data on the inputs, and that you can set the output manually.  Add any visualization you want for viewing the data.  Then create a logging set to log the non-contact thermometer.  Maybe throw in the other one too if you want.  Finally, in your button, you just need a Quick Sequence action:

beginLogging(myLog)

digOut = 1

That's it.  Change myLog to the name of your logging set, and digOut to the name of your digital output channel.  You might add a stop button that does the reverse:

endLogging(myLog)

digOut = 0

OK, thanks.. Sounds simple..

I was working with the external timer unit (OMRON) last night in the lab, I cannot get an accurate 1-shot ~5V input to my system with th electronics and relay contact within it.

I need, when button pushed, to have an open collector fast 0.001ms output to start this sequence. DO I still need to alter it?

The customer has specified the 0.001 seconds for a reason (in my mind, too short)