PostgreSQL

dle

• 8 months later...

I would like to automatically log data from DAQFactory to a database in PostgreSQL. I followed this website to configure an ODBC driver for PostgreSQL. Then I created an Export Set and changed the settings so that it uses ODBC Database as Export Method. What are the next steps? I am completely new to these platforms so any help is much appreciated! Thanks!

ODBCDriverSettings.png

ExportSetSettings.png

First, make sure the ODBC connection works by clicking on the Test button in your ODBC configuration.  Also, make sure you created the ODBC data source in the 32 bit version of the control panel applet, and not the 64 bit version.  DAQFactory, as a 32 bit app, only connects to 32 bit data sources.

You can quickly verify that the ODBC is accessible from DAQFactory by going to the command alert window and typing:

global dbase = db.open("DAQFactory")

That will try and open the data source named "DAQFactory".  If it just does it without any message, then you are probably good.  If not, it will display an error message.  If it does work, you'll need to close the connection by then typing:

db.close(dbase)

Next, I would probably recommend a logging set if you are just getting started.  It is largely setup the same way, except you just select the channels you want to log.

Finally, I do not know the dialect of PostgreSQL, so you might have to click the SQL button in the logging/export set next to where you put the data source and tweak the SQL commands to match what PostgreSQL uses.

Thank you! When I clicked Test, the connection worked. I had the wrong version installed, but now I have the 32 bit version. I tried global dbase = db.open("DAQFactory") but an error popped up and I'm not sure why. The error: 01002 Unable to open ODBC database: Line 1