Valve Control with "Event" statement

Kemp

Subject: Valve control with “Event” statement.

I am a novice at creating a control system using DaqFactory and a U3 LabJack.

I have designed a system consisting of a number of pipe valves in a closed loop and open-loop configuration. Each valve is controlled through the DAQFactory program. Each valve is controlled by a separate Channel as a “digital out” device. Each channel (Valve) is operated by a two-position lever switch. Manually the valves/system operates properly and there is no interaction between any of the valves.

The problem is that there are conditions where two specific valves cannot be open at the same time.

I have attempted to control this by creating an “event” in (Valve_1) that prevents (Valve_2) being open or opening when (Valve_1) is open or opens.

Event statement:

If (Valve-1[0] => 1)  /I incorporated the > on the assumption that Valve_1{[0] might not be exactly equal to 1

Valve_2 =0

endif

this event statement is typical of a number of combinations/statements, that I have tried.

Once this problem is resolved I need to automate the whole system (6 valves) with a prescribed sequence operation program.

Unless you wish to also comment on that program, I will reserve those problems for some future assistance, I suspect.

I appreciate your assistance in helping me resolve this problem.

Your Event code should mostly work, though I would just write it as:

if (Valve_1[0] )
   Valve_2 = 0
endif

The problem is that there will be a small delay from when Valve_1 opens to when valve_2 closes.  The other problem is that this won't prevent valve_2 from subsequently being opened.

A better method is to use a Test Digital Out channel for each of the valves that act as a proxy to the real valves.  So, lets say you have tValve_1 and tValve_2 which are Test Dig Out channels.  In the tValve_1 Event you would put, say:

if (tValve_1[0])
   Valve_2 = 0
endif
valve_1 = tValve_1[0]