Chart Recorder type graph wanted

AndyT

Hi,

I am running DAQFactory Std edition.

I would like to have a graph where the time was on the vertical axis and the measured dependant values on the horizontal axis. Just like the control panels with strip paper chart recorders on them.

Is this possible? There is a Rotate property for symbols but I can't find one for graphs.

My other attempt was to put Time on Y-axis and Values on the X-axis.

I went to the Axes tab then LeftAxis_1 and set ScaleFrom = SysTime()+30 and ScaleTo = Systime()-30 which gave me a scrolling strip going down the page okay.

Bottom Axis was set ScaleFrom = 0 and ScaleTo = 50 (its a temp I am trying to trace)

But no trace shows - I think because I can't assign the bottom axis in the dropdown.

Someone must of done this already or am I looking in the wrong place.

Andy

Attached a sample using the test device (hope I've got this right I am new to this)

test_chart_rec.ctl

You are on the right track, but you can't simply put "Time" in the Y expression. "Time" in X expression has special meaning, and pulls the time from the value automatically. "Time" anywhere else has no meaning. Instead, you have to use the getTime() function. So if your X expression now has "mychannel", your Y Expression needs to have "getTime(mychannel)"

You also need to make sure the bottom axis type is set to Lin, not Date/Time.

It took me a while to get my vertical charts setup correctly, but in the end it helped alot...

The Y axis like AzeoTech said, can't be time, but more of a value that increments over time...

Say you have a value called ChartIncrement and every 30 seconds it adds 1, you could use that for a Y axis to "step" along your chart every 30 seconds....

Then your X axis should be a value that increments at the same 30 seconds ChartIncrement happens so they have the same time and display on the chart correctly...

Please correct me if I'm wrong AzeoTech!

InsertTime() has become my friend. :)