Placing Variables Into Character Array

Fairford

Hi

I am a DaqFactory novice so please excuse my ignorance if the following is trivial

I’m connected with a Sprint DC Variable Speed Drive through the RS232 port. Communication is established and I can perform basic parameter functions.

Using the line below, I can set the speed to 100%

device.Sprint.Write(chra({0x04,0x30,0x30,0x30,0x30,0x02,0x41,0x61,0x31,0x30,0x30,0x03,0x12}))
                                       (EOX) (GroupID)(   Unit ID  )(STX)( Mnemon)(      Value         )(ETX)(BCC)
Where:
EOX = End of transmission. Clears the line at start of new message
STX = Start of Text
ETX = End of text
BCC = Block Check Character – verification check digit which is exclusive OR of Mnemon to ETX
Mnemon = Two hex character ASCII mnemonic for parameter. Aa in this case = Speed
Value = ASCII hex representation of parameter value. In this case 100

Whilst EOX, GroupID, Unit ID, STX and mnemonic can remain fixed in each transmission, I’d like to be able to dynamically change the value and check block (BCC) so that I can change the speed of the drive by reading a slider value (or similar).

I’ve tried for many hours to place variables into the chra array to dynamically change the values and BCC, but I’ve failed miserably!

Please can anyone help.

With thanks

You can't put variables in static array notation (i.e. {1,2,3} is fine, but {1, myVariable, 3} is not).  But write() just takes a string, and asca() generates a string, so you can just concatenate them:

device.Sprint.Write(chra({0x04, 0x30, 0x30, 0x30, 0x30, 0x02, 0x41, 0x61}) + format("%03d", val) + chr(0x03) + bcc)

where val is some number.  Format() with %03d will prefix val to 3 digits with 0's, so 5 becomes 005 and 32 becomes 032.  I'm not sure how you are calculating BCC, but lets say its just a sum of all the other characters rolled at 256.  Then I'd do: